Uncategorized

Sunday Dinner

I was going to start by saying, “I like to cook”, but honestly sometimes cooking is a pain.There are days when I take a specific thing out for dinner with the hope that my husband will grill it.There are days when the kids request something and I would rather repeat third grade with Miss Lacey than cook what they ask for. Heck, there are days I don’t even want to cook what I’ve been wanting to eat for dinner all day long.Then there are days like today. We have chicken breasts and chicken thighs. So we just had to decide how we wanted it cooked.All day long, I was thinking my husband would grill it. That totally would have happened if not for the fact that the wind was pretty bad.The fact that we spent the better part of the day digging holes (and falling in one), and dropping posts to replace the gate on the goat pen didn’t help matters any.I bought a box of Corn Flakes yesterday. We are talking Kellogg’s Corn Flakes. The almost $4 size box.I joked with my daughter that it was for cooking, as normally, whichever child is with me gets to choose the cereal. We get two bags, the Malt O Meal bags, and one has to be something that isnt rainbow fruit cereal. Yesterday there were two with me. My only stipulation was that we could not get the peanut butter cereal.When I got the cereal, I thought I’d use it to make fried chicken.Well… that’s what I made. Oven Fried Chicken. It was gooood!

Here’s what I used: (keep in mind I’m feeding 3 grown men, my 17.5 year old daughter and myself)

1 pack chicken drumsticks (there were 16 in the pack I made)

2.5-3 c Corn Flakes

1 c Flavored bread crumbs

Garlic Powder

Dried minced onion

Salt and pepper

A gallon sized freezer bag that you can close really well.

Heat oven to 400°

Prepare a 9×13″ pan by spraying with the cooking spray of your choice. Alternatively, you could also use butter, just melt it a little in the pan.

Place the Corn Flakes in the plastic bag. Crush the flakes. I used a rolling pin.

Add bread crumbs and seasonings. I don’t really measure, but I probably used about a tbsp of the onion and garlic and maybe a tsp of salt and pepper. Mix it all together

Crack the eggs into a bowl and mix them up. Dredge the chicken in the egg mix and then place in the bag with corn flakes mixture. I put about half in the bag then shook it up to coat the chicken pieces. Arrange chicken pieces in the pan. Repeat for remaining pieces. Cook chicken at 400° for 40 minutes, turn chicken and continue to cook for approximately 20-30 minutes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.