Uncategorized

Friday Foods

Fridays in general are pretty special around here.

My husband is off (unless he’s on a fire), most times the kids are home, and now, I’m off in the morning.

Since it’s his first day off after 40 hours, husband likes to take it easy and since we aren’t running around trying to not miss busses or rides, everyone takes their time getting up.

So, we sort of do breakfast well on Fridays. Sometimes, it’s a big show, with two of us in there cooking and a spread that would make breakfast in hotels look like a snack.

Other times, it’s just some stuff tossed together. Today was one of those days.

We are low on funds and basically making stuff up for dinner.

A quick discussion about the tube of Jimmy Dean sausage and dozens of eggs and we determined just to cook it all together.

But plain eggs and sausage, while delicious, is plain!

So I looked around for what else I could add in.

My garlic had about 4 cloves left, so I diced them up and tossed them in with the meat. I also grabbed some cilantro and a serrano pepper.

Which, by the way I planted out in my garden and hasn’t shown any signs of anything outside of some leaves, so I’m having doubts that it’s not basil, because theres a bunch of stuff in another plot that is basil, and I thought it was something else.

Anyway, it turned out pretty well, with just a touch of spice.

Here’s what I used

1 tube Jimmy Dean ground sausage

4 cloves garlic, diced

1/4 C chopped cilantro

1 Serrano pepper, seeded and diced

Eggs, mixed well

Here’s what I did:

Brown sausage in a large pan over medium low heat.

Add in garlic, cilantro and pepper, cook until sausage is no longer pink.

Add in eggs, stirring often, until eggs are cooked well.

I seasoned lightly with black pepper.

Serve warm.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.