Uncategorized

Basic Chunky Beanie

Its not a great secret that I have a lot of yarn that I dont know exactly what it is.

Occasionally, I can go through my Ravelry stash and figure it out. However I have a yarn that I was sure was one kind, so I didn’t have to look it up, but since I’ve used it in this hat, I’m pretty sure it isn’t what I’ve been thinking.

A quick gander through my Ravelry stash tells me I’m right, it’s not what I thought it was.

So, here it is, my basic knit chunky beanie:

Supplies:

1 skein Lion Brand Wool Ease Chunky

Size US 13, 9mm needle, for working in the round

Stitch marker

Yarn needle for weaving in ends

Cast on 38 stitches. Join for working in the round. Place stitch marker, if using.

K1, p1 ribbing for 4 rows

Row 1: k all stitches

Repeat until work measures 7.5″ from cast on edge. Directions between **, repeat to end of row

Decrease as follows:

R2: k2tog, k17

R3 and all odd rows: k all stitches

R4: *k7, k2tog*

R6: *k6, k2tog*

R8: *k5, k2tog*

R10: *k4, k2tog*

R12: *k3, k2tog*

R14: *k2, k2tog*

R16: *k1, k2tog*

Cut yarn, weave through remaining stitches , pull tight and tie off.

I’ve added a pdf file to my Ravelry shop. For $1.25, you can download to have your own ad-free copy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.